QUIZ STRUCTURE II JANUARY 2017

12 02 2017

QUIZ STRUCTURE II JANUARY 2017

  1. Complete the verbs in parentheses with the appropriate modals. (To answer the questions, just write the missing words.
  2. a. I didn’t come to the party last night, I (study) …………………………………..
  3. You (come)………………………………………… we really had a good time.
  4. a. I asked him a question in English, but he just smiled and nodded.
  5. He (not, speak) ………………………………………………… much English.
  6. Every time my aunt Susan came to our house, she (give)…………. me a big kiss

and pinch my cheek.

  1. a. Do you want to go to the concert to night?
  2. Not really. I (go)………………………………………… to a movie tonight.
  3. a. Paula fell asleep in class this morning.
  4. She (stay up)…………………………………………………..to late last night.
  5. The phone is ringing, but there’s no answer. He (not, be)………………..at home.
  6. You (pass)…………………………………………………………the salt please?
  7. This application (suppose, send) …………………………………………..today.
  8. Chris (offer, already)…………….by a competing firm before we made our offer.
  9. We can’t wait any longer! Something  (do) ………………………immediately.

 

  1. Change the following sentences into passive or active if possible.

 

  1. If you expose a film to light while you are developing it, you will ruin the negative.
  2. 2. When is someone going to announce the results of the contest?
  3. 3. Mary will have helped Andy.
  4. 4. People grow rice in many countries.
  5. 5. A large vast stands in the corner of our front hallway.
  6. Someone was making the coffee when I walked into the kitchen.
  7. When did someone invent the radio?
  8. If you expose a film to light while you are developing it, you will ruin the negative.

 

 

III. Change the question or sentence in parentheses to a noun clause.

  1. (Which one does he want?) Let’s ask him …………………………………….
  2. (Does this bus go downtown?) Could you please tell me ………………………
  3. (She doesn’t understand spoken English)…………………………….is obvious.
  4. (Jim told us where we could find it) Jim told us…………………………………

 

  1. Change the quoted speech into reported speech.
  2. Kim asked me, “did you enjoy your trip?”
  3. Sam wanted to know, “Where is Nadia?”
  4. She has said, “I watch TV every day.”
  5. He told me, “don’t open your book.”
  6. “I may be late,” said Mike.
  7. Maria asked,” have you seen my grammar book?”
  8. She has said,” I watch TV every day.”
  9. The teacher told me, “ Don’t open your book!”

 

 

  1. Combine the sentences, using the second sentence as an adjective clause.
  2. I must thank the people. I got a present from them.
  3. The people were very nice. They visited us yesterday.
  4. I have to call the man. I accidentally pick up his umbrella after the meeting.
  5. He gave several reasons. Only a few of them were valid.
  6. The elevator is out of order. This is too bad.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

